Using 'Allow Overwriting' options in the Import Wizard
Introduction
During the import process, you may wish to modify the overwrite settings of an existing wave on the fly rather than making a lasting change via the Admin section. The Allow Overwriting options allow you to modify the overwrite settings for an existing wave for an import session; the actual overwrite settings for that wave will not change outside of the import session.
Allow Overwriting
The 'Allow Overwriting' dropdown in the first page of the Import Wizard has four options:
- No (Default)
- Yes
- Ignore
- Yes but without clearing coded data
The 'No' option will disable the overwriting of existing data in Codeit. This means that if an verbatim already exists within Codeit, and the data being imported differs, an error will be thrown.
The 'Yes' option will allow overwriting of existing data in Codeit. This means that if a verbatim already exists within Codeit, and the data being imported differs, the data will be overwritten in Codeit with the new value. Any coding attached to that verbatim will be cleared.
The 'Ignore' option will ignore any differences, and simply skip any updates. So, if an verbatim already exists within Codeit, and the data being imported differs then this difference will be ignored and the data in Codeit will be updated.
The 'Yes but without clearing coded data' option will allow overwriting of existing data in Codeit, but without clearing any associated coded data. This means that if a verbatim already exists within Codeit, and the data being imported differs, the data will be overwritten in Codeit with the new value. However, any coding attached to that verbatim will NOT be cleared.